Salt Ashes - Killing My Mind - Cover Art
  • Release Date: November 05, 2021
  • Catalog No: RAD 99499-2
  • Label: Radikal Records
  • Type: Albums
Radikal Shop iTunes

Salt Ashes – Killing My Mind

Stream/Download | CD (Ships from USA) | CD (UK & Europe)

London-based dark pop and electronic artist Salt Ashes (aka Veiga Sanchez) releases her highly anticipated sophomore album, Killing My Mind, on 5th November via Radikal Records.

An album that explores all of the relationships in her life, including hers with the patriarchy, in Killing My Mind, Salt Ashes crafts a fierce combination of slick, yet gritty pop; carrying hard-hitting messages that both challenge and empower in equal measure.

“It’s a journey through the last couple of years so it feels very personal and cathartic…I have to stop myself from crying occasionally as some of the subjects are still very raw. But I love that. It makes me know that I really wrote from the heart on this album.” – Salt Ashes

With Giorgio Moroder inspired synth-scapes, a pulsating 4 to the floor beat, and Veiga’s soaring vocals, the album’s focus track, ‘Body Says’ is nothing short of epic. Speaking of the song, Veiga said: “I wrote this with my producer Louis, which was a very enlightening experience as we wrote this from a female perspective. It was interesting to see how he understood the struggles women face on a night out without me even saying anything. I want this song to empower people but also just want to get down and fucking dance.”

The album was preceded by the singles ‘Love, Love’, ‘Too Many Times’, and most recently ‘Lucy’, which received a premiere from Wonderland magazine. Arriving with a Wes Anderson / Tarantino inspired music video, self-directed by and starring Salt Ashes, the song speaks out against violence towards women. Whilst taking a tongue-in-cheek approach, the video also tackles the theme of the song head-on and illustrates a very real experience of Salt Ashes.

The album was co-written with Louis Souyave during the height of lockdown, a process that Veiga said “helped us get through all our anxieties we were having at the time”. She continues: “We pushed through though and are very proud of what we created. We took inspiration from some of our favourite 80’s tracks and bands and had a lot of fun creating all the many sounds within the album.”

Salt Ashes - Killing My Mind - Promo Shot

The Brighton-born singer burst into the dance music scene with her self-titled debut album in 2016, produced by the late Daniel Fridholm (aka Cruelty), which quickly gained popularity amongst music fans worldwide.

She has since released a string of successful singles, with stamps of approval from tastemakers such as The Guardian, Billboard, MTV, Attitude Magazine, NOISEY, Popjustice, Wonderland and CLASH; with BBC Radio (Introducing, Radio 1 & 1Xtra) and Spotify (NMF UK & The Pop List) also showing their support. She has toured with artists such as Tove Styrke, Say Lou Lou, Nimmo, Bright Light Bright Light and 80s pop sensation Tiffany. Now, with the release of her second album, it’s clear to see Salt Ashes is on the verge of becoming a household name.


  1. Lucy
  2. Mad Girl
  3. Powerplay
  4. Screw Over You
  5. Too Many Times
  6. I’m Not Scared to Die
  7. Love, Love
  8. Skylight
  9. Killing My Mind
  10. Body Says
  11. Strangers
  12. Never Be Wrong

Salt Ashes - Killing My Mind - Cover ArtSalt Ashes – Killing My Mind
Stream/Download | CD (Ships from USA) | CD (UK & Europe)

Follow Salt Ashes
Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram


Also Available:

Salt Ashes - counting crosses - cover art

Salt Ashes - Cut You With a Kiss - Cover Art