• Release Date: April 28, 2017
  • Catalog No: RAD 99360-2
  • Label: Radikal Records
  • Type: Albums
iTunes Amazon

Ross Jack – Self Medicated

Click to order/stream Self Medicated

Amazon | Bandcamp |Radikal Records web-store | Spotify

Self Medicated is a perfect blend of Ross Jack’s influences, taking the best sounds of Rap, RnB, Soul, Tri-Hop, and Pop to produce a unique style that he refers to as “Stoner Pop.” The introspective album touches on topics such as falling in love, trying to be “cool,” and the perks and pet-peeves of Ross Jack’s acquired popular lifestyle.

After establishing himself in the industry as a prodigious beat-maker and producer for acts such as Toya Delazy, HHP, Chiano Sky, and Khuli Chana, Ross Jack decided to step out from the background and in front of the mic. In 2013, his mix-tape album, ‘Notes from the Wild,’ took the South African music scene by storm as single after single topped the national radio charts. Now, Ross Jack is releasing his strongest work to date, ‘Self Medicated.’


For the new album ‘Self Medicated,’ Ross traveled to the UK to work with award winning London-based producer Pete Boxsta (Petite Meller, James Arthur). Ross describes his experience in the UK as “an urban adventure that set the tone for the record.” Each track sees Ross Jack taking his creativity to the next level as his charismatic performance on the mic adapts to the album’s wide-range of production styles. From the chilled-out haunting vibes of “Fall,” to the irresistible high energy pop-rap anthem “Gold Plated,” followed up with the dance hall reggae vibes of “Burning Man,” the album’s diverse beats and production allow Ross to tackle a variety of emotions applying his own exciting sound. ‘Self Medicated’ blurs the lines between musical genres, and appeals to fans to fans of the electro-pop sounds of The Weeknd, and the smoked out swagger-filled bars of Mac Miller alike. The album establishes Ross Jack as an artist to watch in 2017.


Click to order/stream Self Medicated

Amazon | Bandcamp |Radikal Records web-store | Spotify


1. Fear the Rush
2. Faded
3. Blow (feat. Lula Beggs)
4. RocknRolla (feat. Hydro)
5. Fall
6. Gold Plated (feat. Hydro)
7. Running Late (feat. B.K.)
8. Burning Man (feat. B.K.)
9. Insecure
10. Air Up There
11. Mercy

Follow Ross Jack on social media:

Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

(Visited 43 times, 1 visits today)